Submitted by SGI Cross Country Coach Chad Russell

This past Saturday, Springville cross country attended the ECIC Championship Invitational held at Alden High School.  The teams raced very well, taking first place, beating the other teams in their division and ending the season 10 – 0.

The guys team took second in the divisional meet, losing to Alden, but beating all of the other teams in their division to end the year 8 – 2.

At the awards ceremony for the meet, Springville received many honors. After the race, Gwen Fruehauf, Sonya Krezmein and Elle Russell were named 1st team ECIC Allstars, and Samantha Fruehauf, Morgan Lukert and Gabbey Pfeifer were named 2nd team Allstars.

Jaime Dickinson raced very well to take 7th place for the team.

The guys team also received honors for their efforts.  Nick Abdo and Brett Russell earned 2nd team ECIC Allstar recongnition.

The pack of runners that included Nathan Myers, Kurt Uschold, Zack Peterman, Elliott Emyle and Luke Waterman raced well.  A strong and bright future is in store for next year as the boys’ team has six of their top seven runners returning next year.

On Friday, the varsity teams head to Beaver Island State Park to compete at Sectionals.  Wish them Luck!